Friday ID File: Map Decor.

Photobucket

Even before I was a world traveler, I was a lover of maps. They serve a functional purpose, of course, but I tend to look at maps as beautiful pieces of art: there are always such fine details and every map is different, an expression of a distinct style and distinct interpretation of the way the artist/cartographer perceives the world. Maps are a link to the past, present and future for me. I have a few vintage maps that have graced my walls as well as a small globe collection, but I keep seeing really innovative and unique ways to incorporate maps into decor around the interwebz, from old-school pull-down maps to globe lanterns to wall decals, and am now seriously itching to find a place to live so that I can exercise a little more creativity with the map motif. That may be a while yet though, so until then, I shall gaze upon these worldly pretties and sigh longingly. Feel free to do the same. Happy Friday, friends!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

One response to “Friday ID File: Map Decor.

  1. I don’t think I like the globe one, but the rest are awesome…especially your featured image.

Leave a Reply

