Friday ID File: Wallpaper.

Photobucket

When I was younger, I had wallpaper in my room and I hated it. It was a tacky cream-colored paper with a pattern of grandmotherly roses on it and I couldn’t even pin my Hanson posters over top of it… unfair! My negative feelings toward wallpaper have lessened considerably since then, and in the past year or so as I’ve watched wallpaper start to make a comeback, I’ve even thought that it might be nice to wallpaper at least one room in my home (when I have a home) someday. I’ve seen dozens of companies whose wallpaper designs are absolutely beautiful and oh-so-hip, from designerly florals to bold geometric patterns, and I continue to be astounded at what a difference it can make in a room. It’s also pretty versatile: wallpapering all of the walls is the standard, but wallpapering a single wall and leaving the rest of the walls painted or white can also serve as a lovely accent to a room. The only thing that might deter me from giving wallpaper a go is the mess factor; I’ve heard it’s a bitch to remove from your walls once you’re ready for something new, and that doing it incorrectly can damage your walls. But then looking at all of the gorgeous patterns makes me want to throw caution to the wind and wallpaper to my little heart’s content!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

What are your thoughts on wallpaper? Trendy and awesome? Or dated and boring? Whether you love it or hate it, you can deny that these wallpaper patterns are really pretty. Can I get an amen?

3 responses to “Friday ID File: Wallpaper.

  1. Umm. 3. OMG. This is my dream apartment.

  2. Interesting subject. I like wallpaper too but think it needs to be planned well before being done. There’s nothing as horrible as ugly wallpaper on a prominent wall in a house. Sometimes though, it all depends on the wall. I have seen wallpaper that is dreadfully ugly to me but it works in the room. I am keen to try wallpaper too, maybe not to the extend of the second last picture above but definitely keen to try it in my bedroom. I am just not sure about the design. It’s all about ‘marrying’ the wall and the design I think. 🙂 Great post!

  3. Hi Kendall! I just stumbled upon your blog and I think it’s super lovely! X

Leave a Reply

