Amsterdam to Brussels by Train.

song: “Better Off Alone” by Marissa Maharaj

I’m really on fire with my 24 Before 25 list! Last Saturday I took a train journey to Brussels for the day; I left Amsterdam at 7:30am and the journey took three hours. I wouldn’t say that I passed through any remarkable landscapes while on the train, but there were a couple green idyllic areas that weren’t at all unpleasant to look at. You’ll see in the video that I moved to sit on the other side of the train about 2/3 of the way through (it seemed like more interesting things were happening on the right side of the train), but what you won’t see, or hear, rather, is the gentleman sitting across the aisle from me whose snore sounded like some kind of defective machinery. It was so loud and consistent that I initially thought the sound was being made by the train, but when I saw the lady behind him shake his seat in an effort to wake him up, I realized that this was one of the strangest human-made sounds I’d ever heard and couldn’t stop snickering to myself.

Brussels, to be honest, was pretty unremarkable. It’s like an amalgamation of Paris and Amsterdam, and as someone who’s seen Paris and lived in Amsterdam, it just didn’t really impress me. Plus, I experienced some of the characteristically-French snootiness in the few Belgians I interacted with, and that just bummed me out. I’ve always been of the opinion that the people make a place, and even if a place is gorgeous to behold, an abundance of rudeness in its people is enough to ruin it for me. Maybe that’s just me. Regardless, I’m glad that I got to see Brussels even if it was a little underwhelming. Here are a few photos from my afternoon in Belgium:

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App I came across the most epic outdoor flea market ever in one of the plazas. It was a thrifter’s paradise.

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

3 responses to “Amsterdam to Brussels by Train.

  1. Lovely pictures!

  2. That flea market looks amazing!

    Lovely photos : )

  3. It’s interesting that you didn’t really like Brussels. My parents lived there for about 4 years until recently; so I was lucky to visit with “locals”! It’s not my favourite European city, but it does have points of loveliness. I loved all the street art and the obsession with Tin Tin. Also – fun fact – did you notice how the town hall in the main square was uneven? Apparently when it was built (in the 1500s or something) the architect didn’t realise it was uneven until someone pointed it out late in the building process. He was so embarrassed he threw himself off the top of it!

Leave a Reply

