Kendall Visits the Guinness Storehouse.

Photobucket

I haven’t always loved Guinness. In fact the first couple times I tried it, I hated it. But that was in America, which I’m told makes a significant difference. Once I’d had a Guinness in Northern Ireland, I could see it for what it truly was: a dark and frothy little piece of heaven in a pint glass. Needless to say, when I visited Dublin last weekend, visiting the Guinness Storehouse was at the top of my list of things to see.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Fact: Arthur Guinness was a badass. He essentially perfected the art of brewing stout beer and made it a science, and he believed so wholeheartedly in his product that he signed a 9,000-year lease for the storehouse. So boss.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

One of my favorite parts of the Storehouse tour was seeing the history of Guinness advertising and how it has evolved over the past couple centuries. My favorite tagline? “Lovely day for a Guinness.” So simple, yet so true.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

But of course, the best part of the tour was at the very end, where your admission ticket earned you a free pint of Guinness in the Gravity Bar, which offers stunning 360° views of Dublin. It was perfection. My couchsurfing host, Eoin, was kind enough to accompany me on the tour even though he had already done it three other times (bless his heart!), so we found a seat near the windows, sipped our pints, and chatted happily. And then, to my delight, the entire bar erupted in a sing-a-long of “Molly Malone,” Dublin’s unofficial anthem, and it was like I died and went to heaven. It’s such a quintessentially Irish ditty, and it was the cherry on top of a truly delightful experience.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

