Friday ID File: All White Everything.

Photobucket

Scandinavian design, I’ve noticed, is big in Amsterdam. I’ve always been a big proponent of color and maximalism when it comes to interior design, so it was a bit of a shock for me to walk into my apartment in Amsterdam for the first time and see so much white: white walls, white cupboards, white drapes, white bedding. But now that I’ve lived in this space for nearly half a year, I’ve grown really fond of the brightness and simplicity that Scandinavian design offers. It’s kind of calming not to have so much visual stimuli in my living space, and it just looks and feels so crisp and clean. I’m starting to love designs that are comprised of mostly white with natural wood accents or small subtle pops of color in furniture.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

How do you feel about Scandinavian design? Is there such a thing as too much white?

6 responses to “Friday ID File: All White Everything.

  1. I’m madly in love with that kitchen.

  2. Oh, I like the kitchen too!

  3. It’s beautiful! I think white is such a clean,fresh look and it makes spaces feel a lot bigger. Great post!

  4. I adore the simplicity of Scandinavian design, but I love using lots of colors when I make up a room. There is a certain calmness and contentment to an all white space but I have never been brave enough to try it.

  5. Reblogged this on Colby is Mega.

  6. I always feel that our external surroundings can mirror our internal minds in a way… and our surroundings can have a big effect on our minds… so for that reason I love simple clean design. And I love to keep my surroundings orderly and minimal. Of course I am not always (or even often) successful…

Leave a Reply

