Things Organized Neatly.

Photobucket “We adore chaos because we love to produce order.”

I am not a neat freak. Six out of seven days of the week, I leave my clothes on the floor, I don’t make my bed, and there are a myriad of things haphazardly strewn about my bathroom sink and counter. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about why I do this, and I suspect that on a subconscious level I create these little messes for myself so that on Saturday morning, when I wake up without an alarm, I can make myself a cup of tea and start my day by putting things in their proper place. It’s a leisurely activity for me, and it gives me great satisfaction to gaze fondly upon my handiwork afterward and pat myself on the back. Because while I’m not a neat freak, I am nothing if not a fan of order.

Would it be too much to posit that order is a universal human desire? I can’t speak for anyone else, I suppose, but I know that for me, the ability to organize and put things in order makes me feel like I’m in control (and who doesn’t love being in control?), but even beyond that, being able to see everything arranged and in its right place is soothing to me. Which is why Things Organized Neatly is my new favorite Tumblr: it captures the aesthetic pleasure of order in photographic form, with subjects ranging from shoes to food to pieces of machinery. If you’re an admirer of the organized, it’s definitely worth checking out. And if you’re anything like me, it may even be therapeutic.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

1 2 3 4 5

Leave a Reply

