Questing for Drunkenness.

Photobucket

My Dear Readers,

I’ve been ruminating intently on the words of Mr. Baudelaire in my previous post and on the notion of being drunk without respite, as he so poetically encourages. My blog posts, to me, have felt largely uninspired these past weeks, and putting them out into the universe has made me feel the opposite of drunk. In order to give myself room to ponder what I want this blog to be, and what it needs to be in order to keep my drunkenness from ebbing or vanishing, I’m going to take a break from blogging for the rest of this week. I hope to return next week invigorated, inspired and most importantly, drunk. Until then, I hope you’re able to find a way to be perpetually drunk, as well.

With love,
Kendall

2 responses to “Questing for Drunkenness.

  1. Obviously, you are a young person, brought up in our “drinking” society, who perceives drunkenness as glorious and funny. In contrast, a non-drinker is aware that alcohol distorts the perception of reality and thus hinders the full enjoyment of life. Seen from this angle, drunkenness is not funny, not to speak of the hundreds of neurons a drinking stint kills. But, console yourself, Jesus was a wine drinker. You are in good company.

    • Literal drunkenness is not something I find humorous or take lightly, as I’ve watched many friends and family members succumb to alcoholism, so your sweeping generalization about my perception of drunkenness not only surprises me, but also kind of offends me. I use the word ‘drunkenness’ here metaphorically, as Baudelaire did, to mean any elated lightness that keeps you from feeling “the horrible burden of Time weighing on your shoulders and bowing you to the earth.” I have a feeling that if you had read the previous post I was referring to, you would not have left this comment that addresses a topic outside of the context it was written in. I appreciate that you read my blog, but I hope that in the future, if you comment on a post that alludes to another post, that you will read the preceding post beforehand.

Leave a Reply

