Autumn Leaves.

Photobucket

Autumn is my favorite time of year: I love the colors and the crispness in the air, and being able to dress in layers and reintroduce scarves into my daily wardrobe. But I also love that autumn is a transitional time, where change is happening each day gradually but surely. I think the season definitely speaks to my life at the present moment.

I spent a lot of this past weekend just walking around and admiring what a beautiful time autumn is in Amsterdam. There are fallen leaves everywhere, and I love hearing the crunching sound they make when people walk through them. And the colors of the leaves are unbelievable: it’s like a subtle gradient that goes from deep red to toasted orange to golden yellow, and it’s been so sunny here lately that the colors appear even more vibrant, and just exude warmth. It’s absolutely stunning. During my walks, I found myself in constant awe of all this beauty around me, how it happens like clockwork every year, so naturally, and how seldom a person stops to really drink it in and appreciate this gift that’s being given to them.

There’s a quote by Kurt Vonnegut that I absolutely love, and that kept coming to mind over the weekend: “I urge you to please notice when you are happy and exclaim or murmur or think at some point ‘If this isn’t nice, I don’t know what is.'” I’ve been trying to make a point of doing that regularly, and I’ve discovered that I have occasion to think it often. I think that means I’m really lucky.

Happy Autumn to you, dear readers. I hope you’re embracing this season of change and exclaiming and murmuring and thinking about the niceness of your lives, too.

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

