My Hood.

In the few short weeks I’ve been here, I’ve been able to draw several parallels between Amsterdam and Seattle… most notably the recent omnipresence of rain. But another way that Amsterdam is similar to Seattle is that it’s kind of broken up into neighborhoods like Seattle is. I live in the Oud Zuid neighborhood of Amsterdam, which, if you’re familiar with Seattle, is comparable to Wallingford or maybe Magnolia: it’s very residential and seems full of families, and it has lots of small locally-owned shops and stores. It’s a really lovely neighborhood, so I thought I’d share a few glimpses.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Lomanstraat, the street I live on. It truly may be the prettiest street in all of Amsterdam.

Photobucket

Photobucket

The corner of Amstelveenseweg , which is perpendicular to Lomanstraat, and Koninginneweg, which is just a couple streets up from Lomanstraat. Lots of delightful little shops on this street.

Photobucket

Photobucket

This church is a block away from Lomanstraat, and it’s gorgeous. I also kind of love that the bell in the tower rings every hour, on the hour and half-hour.

Photobucket

I pass through the Lyceum a couple days a week when I pick up the kids from school. It’s an absolutely beautiful structure… I’m in awe every time I see it.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Yep, Oud Zuid is a beautiful hood to live in.

Leave a Reply

