A Glorious Return.

Photobucket

Dear Friends,

I’m back! I’ve been in Amsterdam for nearly a week now, which seems both unbelievable and perfectly plausible: it feels like so long ago I was packing up my suitcases and saying farewell to friends in Seattle, and yet, it feels like just yesterday. Funny how time works sometimes, huh?

I’ve been thinking back on my last days in Seattle, trying to relive the whirlwind, and something that stood out to me about those last days was how differently my perception of my surroundings became. Because when you know you’re not going to see something or someone for a long long time, you start noticing things that you never took the time to notice before, like the beauty of the skyline on my commute home from work, or the funny cowlicks in a friend’s hair. It was like all I could see were details. It made me a little sad to only be drinking in the lovely details of the people and places I love in Seattle when I was nearing a long departure from those things, but the details have made my memories of those things more tangible and whole, if that makes sense.

My good friend Michael was traveling through Europe last month, and a week or so before I left, he sent me a message telling me how beautiful Amsterdam was and how much I was going to love it. He wasn’t lying. Amsterdam is so lovely. The photo above is of the street I live on, Lomanstraat, which I’ve heard is considered by some to be the most beautiful street in Amsterdam, with its leaning trees and housing built in the early 1900s. I cannot emphasize how pretty it is. My free hours are during the day, so I’ve been taking advantage of the opportunity to explore the neighborhood on foot in the daylight, as well as trying to familiarize myself with the street names (all in Dutch!) and how to find my way back to Lomanstraat from wherever I end up. The first day I tried to find my way back home from somewhere, I got miserably lost and ended up walking in circles for two hours. It was a good learning experience, and I’m getting better at finding my way around every day.

This is just kind of a vague overview of what my first week has been like, but I’ll get into more detail about the day-to-day in future posts, I promise. I’m so happy to get back to blogging again and I have so much to share with you guys!

One response to “A Glorious Return.

  1. Pingback: Week in Review – One track mind | Let me ask you this…

Leave a Reply

