Hollywood Story Pt. 3: The After Party.

After the premiere ended and we were all coming down from the high of hearing the boys’ song on the big screen, we all set about trying to muster a second wind for the after party. The boys, armed with their clever business cards, were looking forward to mingling and networking with some industry peeps, whereas I was more interested in the ritzy locale, the whisperings of an open bar, and the prospect of rubbing elbows with more celebrities. Through the throng of fans and lookers-on, we set out on foot for our journey toward the after party. After about three blocks, my feet had to be liberated from the prison that was my heels.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket Jill and I are locking pinkies like true 7th grade BFFs.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket Outside the after party location, the W Hotel

Photobucket

The after party was absolutely ridiculous. And when I say ridiculous, what I mean is that the only reason I know it was real is because I have photos; otherwise, I would wave it away as a dream. It was on the roof of the W Hotel, so it was an open-air set up centered around a pool, with a projection of the word “Abduction” sparkling on the surface of the water, that was lined with canopied cabanas that were furnished with lush furniture and flat-screen TVs… JUST FOR PEOPLE TO HANG OUT IN. It was incredible. I grabbed a drink, met some interesting people, snagged hors d’oeuvres from trays that passed by, grabbed another drink, talked to more people, and for the remainder of the night was basically in a state of disbelief at what an unexpected and peculiar situation I was a part of.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Yes, we met Taylor Lautner (I know, right?!). In the spirit of full disclosure, I will admit that I was wholly unimpressed by Taylor before this experience: I didn’t think he was attractive, I didn’t think he was a good actor, and I was generally just uninterested in anything he was a part of. But, after meeting him and interacting with him for a few brief moments, I can confidently say that 1) he is REALLY handsome in real life, and 2) he seems like a genuinely nice guy. I found myself comparing him to Selena Gomez at the theatre, and noting that he seemed much more open to really engaging his fans: even though he was at an after party where he was supposed to be able to relax, he indulged all of the people who formed a line to meet him by posing for pictures, signing autographs and graciously bantering with us lowly commonfolk. He just seemed happy, and humble, and far from the point of being jaded by fame. And to me, that was impressive. I think it’s safe to say that I’ve converted to Team Taylor for life.

Photobucket

At 2am, we rolled out onto the streets of Hollywood. This time my heels came off immediately.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

We had passed by a hot dog cart earlier in the evening, and were lucky enough to chance upon the last cart still open for business at that hour. It was just a cute little lady with a portable grill on a cart, but she made some truly divine LA dogs. Oh man. It was like heaven in my mouth.

Photobucket
By the time we got back to our sleeping quarters, it was 3am; we had to leave for the airport at 5am. So we all power-napped for two hours and then awoke, listless and bleary-eyed, to begin our return trip back to reality.

One response to “Hollywood Story Pt. 3: The After Party.

  1. Thanks for sharing your adventures – it was fun to go to a real Hollywood premier by way of your blog.

Leave a Reply

