Diving In The Sky.

Finally, I’m able to cross this one off my list! My brother Judson and I went skydiving this past Sunday and it was amazing. We were both really nervous, especially after reading through the waiver we had to sign, which had an all caps, bolded statement in each paragraph that essentially said “YOU COULD DIE WHILE DOING THIS.” I decided to record Judson’s (potentially) last words before the jump, which were essentially “Tell my mom I love her” and “Read Kierkegaard.” Oh, brother.

We got to wear ridiculous-looking dive suits (Judson had a difficult time finding one big enough to fit someone as tall as him) and crazy harnesses that made us feel like astronauts. Our tandem guides, Todd and Mickey, were really funny guys, and they did their best to try to put us both at ease as we were ascending into the air in the tiniest plane you can imagine, even though I think I was annoying them by incessantly talking about saying my last goodbyes and possibly not making it out alive. But we did! And it was incredible!

Photobucket

I didn’t get overwhelmingly scared until the point that I had to put my legs outside of the plane: they were just dangling and flopping around in the wind, and I started thinking “Good Lord, what have I gotten myself into?” And then my tandem partner, Todd, started rocking back and counting down from three to one, and then we were floating in the air and it was like time was standing still for a few seconds; everything was completely still. And then, instantly, I was falling at 120 mph and could feel the air rushing into my mouth and rattling my cheeks, and the ground just kept getting closer and closer. But as terrifying as it was, it was beautiful. The parachute deployed perfectly, we floated around for a while and took in the scenery (me all the while watching Judson to make sure he didn’t die), and then landed without a hitch. It was one of the most amazing experiences ever.

Photobucket

We got certificates!

Photobucket

Afterwards, we did a little debriefing session at Burgerville (om nom nom) and conclusively decided that yes, we will both be going skydiving again in the future.

I’ll have video of myself falling through the sky in the next two weeks or so, so stay tuned for that! It’s sure to be entertaining.

2 responses to “Diving In The Sky.

  1. Congratulations on crossing another item off your list! Skydiving is definitely on my list as well. Hopefully I’ll be able to get around to it this fall before it gets too cold. Looks like you had a great time. 🙂

  2. Pingback: 23 Before 24 Recap. |

Leave a Reply

