Backpack-Induced Nostalgia.

I’m currently in Colorado, visiting my friend Bekah who is a seasonal raft guide in Buena Vista. It’s been magical thus far. For this trip, I pulled my giant outdoorsman’s backpack out of the back of my closet and as I was packing, I realized that I haven’t used this backpack since my study abroad trip to South Africa three years ago, and then I started getting nostalgic and reminiscing to myself about my time there. In a lot of ways that are similar to my time in Buena Vista thus far, being in South Africa was an exercise in pushing my personal boundaries and saying yes to things that I would normally say no to. In sum, it was one of the most amazing experiences I’ve ever had, and it’s hard to believe that it was three years ago that I was traipsing around Cape Town, Stellenbosch, Grahamstown and Port Elizabeth with my schoolmates. Here are some of my favorite photos from my time in South Africa:

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket (One of my friends bought a traditional African birthing mask as a gift for her dad, and I could not wait to try that thing on.)

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket (A lion cub is attacking my leg. No big deal.)

You can see all of my photos from South Africa on my Flickr.

2 responses to “Backpack-Induced Nostalgia.

  1. Pingback: Port Elizabeth 18 July

  2. I love that photo with a lion cub. How did you tame it?

Leave a Reply

