4th.

Boy oh boy, did I have the best 4th of July ever! It was by far the best one in recent memory, and most likely the best OF ALL TIME (or of my time, at least). I didn’t have any set plans for the 4th, so on Sunday evening I drove down to Vancouver to hang out with my brother, Judson. We spent the first part of the 4th bopping around Powell’s, our favorite bookstore in Portland. Then we had some time to kill before going to a barbeque, so we traipsed around Portland’s lovely rose gardens.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

We discovered a Shakespeare garden, so naturally we started hurling Shakespeare quotes back and forth at each other (“To be or not to be: that is the question”, “All the world’s a stage, and the men and women merely players”, “That which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet”, etc). Big nerds, we are.

Photobucket

After the rose gardens, we went to a barbeque at our godmother’s house. There were a lot of old patriots dressed in red, white & blue, and they were a lively bunch to hang out with. Our godmother is a history teacher, so of course, she had a little quiz for all of us to take about our nation’s history. We had to leave before the answers were revealed, but I think I did pretty well. Especially on that last question… there’s no way that’s wrong!

Photobucket

In the middle of the day, I discovered that, by virtue of knowing people in high places, I could have prime seating at the Family 4th event in Seattle, so I booked it back up north to make it in time for the fireworks. I walked from my apartment to Gasworks Park, serendipitously ran into some friends on the walk, and when we arrived, we ended up with the best seats in the house.

Photobucket

Photobucket

We had such a magnificent, unobstructed view, and the area we sat in wasn’t smooshed with people like the rest of the park. That Katy Perry song came on during the fireworks display and, for a moment, I wanted to roll my eyes and call it lame, but it was actually incredible: hearing the thumping of the beat and swell of the strings while watching light explosions almost made my heart burst with warm joy. And the fireworks were so close that it felt like I was wearing 3D glasses and they were slowly exploding right in front of my face and raining down on me. It was truly magical.

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

