Plans.

Photobucket

Kendall: Listen up, Universe. I’m going to seize the reins of my life and start over fresh. I’m going to do something daring and unpredictable and terrifying: I’m moving to Texas.

Universe: No you’re not. I’ve seen to it that circumstances bend to my designs for your life, and not your own. You don’t have nearly enough money saved to get there and survive, and what if you can’t find a job? Do you really want to have to move back in with your parents if you can’t scrounge up enough money to pay rent each month? Do you have any idea how much air conditioning is going to cost you in Texas in the summertime?!

Kendall: What the hell, Universe? Why do you always have to muck up all of my plans?

Universe: Muck up, my keister. And don’t even try to deny that you weren’t 100% committed to starting a completely new life in Texas. You were only willing to dip a toe in instead of diving in headfirst like you wanted to. The funny thing about plans is that making them gives you a false sense of control: go ahead and plan away, but ultimately, I have the final say because I know best. That’s why I’m The Universe. And you may not believe this, but I’m actually not trying to ruin your life.

Kendall: Well what am I going to do now?

Universe: You’re going to keep living your life. Because let’s be honest, your life is not that bad. In fact, it’s pretty awesome! You get to hang out with some really swell people and live in one of the most beautiful cities in the country, and you get to experience awesome things because you’ve finally learned how to say yes instead of always declining out of fear. I always knew you’d figure that out. You don’t need to move away and start over yet because there is still a lot of life left for you to live in Seattle, and there are great things on the horizon, I promise. You know that old saying “If life hands you lemons, make lemonade”? You’re going to do that, except you’re going to use gin. Don’t fret, Kendall. You’re going to make the best of this, and you’re going to thank me later.

Image via Apartment Therapy

One response to “Plans.

  1. I love all of your blogs, are are truly a bloggers inspiration!

Leave a Reply

