Thoughts on Owning an iPhone.

Photobucket via

I got an iPhone on Wednesday. And maybe I’m being dramatic, but even after less than 48 hours of owning it, I already feel like my life has changed irreversibly.

For one, I was essentially living in the dark ages with my previous phone. When I got it three years ago, it was pretty high-tech for its time, but looking at it next to an iPhone makes it appear heartbreakingly esoteric. I’ve always jokingly called iPhones “space phones,” but now that I have one, I’m only more convinced that they’re truly otherworldly. I’m baffled by how much it can do.

And that’s another thing: it’s strange how technology creates needs that you didn’t even know you had. But somehow it becomes a need once you have the capability to utilize it. Before, I was totally okay with not having access to my Facebook, Twitter and WordPress accounts unless I was seated at a computer, but now that I have the option to access those accounts from my pocket, I do it all the time. It’s useful, for certain, but kind of strange as well. I don’t want to become one of those people who is socially isolated by the technology of the iPhone, but I fear that becoming that person is near unavoidable. And what’s even more disturbing is that I don’t feel like I’m savvy enough to own an iPhone, but I know that I will reach a point, probably sooner than I think, where I will be incredulous at the fact that I ever lived without one.

The thing I think I’m lamenting most about getting an iPhone is that it’s eating away at my sense of wonder. We live in an information age where we want to know the answer to things instantaneously; the advent of the internet has made that a reality, but I think the iPhone takes it to the nth degree. For example, I was at my friend Sarah’s house for dinner the other night, and we always watch Yo Gabba Gabba during dinner because her son likes it (but let’s be honest, she and I are big fans of the show too). We started wondering aloud about how old the host, DJ Lance Rock, is, and instead of having to just sit with the not-knowing until I got home to Google it on my computer, I pulled out my iPhone and was able to look it up instantly (ps. DJ Lance Rock is in his mid-forties, which totally blows my mind! He has aged really well). I won’t deny that there is value in having so much information at your fingertips, but it’s kind of disheartening that no one is willing to just rest in mystery, in not knowing, and that the value of the mysterious has dwindled significantly.

I also miss having actual number keys. But maybe that’s just nostalgia for the antiquated talking.

3 responses to “Thoughts on Owning an iPhone.

  1. Thanks for telling me how old he actually is, I’ve always wondered that but everytime I get on the computer I forget to look it up because it seems to not be that important when I do get on the computer, or I just forget 🙂

    I have an ipod touch which is kind of like an iphone but with out the phone part but anyways ya it is amazing what you can do right then and there instead of waiting till you get home.

  2. Pingback: Dear Sophie Lee. |

  3. skippingstones

    You just described how I felt when I got my android. I didn’t know what I was missing, but now I can’t imagine my life without it. I go into near panic mode when I’ve misplaced it.

    I love that I can look up whatever I want immediately. Before, by the time I got back around my computer, I didn’t even remember what it was I wanted to know. Now the answer is literally in my hands. I love it!

    When I first got mine, it consumed a LOT of my time. But the novelty eventually wears off, which is a good thing. I still use it way more than my old, regular cell phone, but not nearly as much as when my android was new. Also, you do get used to the number pad. It was really strange and annoying at first when I actually wanted to use my phone to make a call. But I’ve got the hang of it now and I don’t miss my old phone at all.

Leave a Reply

