Music Video Monday #23: Alanis Morrisette’s “Ironic.”

I heard this song in a convenience store over the weekend and it transported me back to my youth when my mom forbade me from listening to Jagged Little Pill because it was too angry. One of my professors made a jab once about how she wanted to kick Alanis’s ass for clearly not understanding the meaning of the word “ironic,” and that may be valid, but this song still holds a special, nostalgia-inducing place in my heart. And I love the video because, let’s be honest, four Alanis Morrisettes are better than one. My favorite is the spastic ADHD Alanis in the backseat.

5 responses to “Music Video Monday #23: Alanis Morrisette’s “Ironic.”

  1. Alanis Morrisette, Foo Fighters, Shawn Colvin, 3rd Eye Blind, Matchbox 20, NiN. All the artists from my youth. I know how you feel about being transported by music. I was in Safeway a few days ago and MmmBop by Hanson came on. Yes, I still know all the words. : |

  2. Oh my goodness, I was a Hanson fanatic back in the day. Glossy pictures of Zach from Teen Beat magazine hung on my walls for a very long time. 🙂

  3. Visiting from FN! I love love loved this album when I was young. A thought about Ironic – maybe she was being ironic by not singing about real irony? Just a thought, haha!

  4. I googled it and it’s true! Good ole Alanis, I knew she was smarter than that! 🙂

  5. Whoa! Clever Alanis… I like her even more now!

Leave a Reply

