Suck It, Ikea.

I have a home decor/upholstery story to tell, and it’s a doozie.

When I moved into my apartment at the beginning of November, I had no furniture to speak of, save for a bed and some bookshelves. My mom flew out to Seattle from Savannah to help me buy some furniture and get all moved in, and we had kind of a difficult time finding furniture for my apartment. I live on the third floor and the stairwell is both low-ceilinged and very narrow, so it’s a struggle to maneuver even small furniture up the stairs. I had dreamed of getting this orange leather loveseat from Ikea, but once my mom and I got to Ikea and were able to see it in real life, we knew that there was no way that it would fit up the stairs. I was kind of devastated.

We did, however, find a chaise lounge in the As-Is section that was a great price and that we felt could potentially fit up the stairs. It was completely bare, but we found a pretty blue Ikea cover to go with it and we were feeling optimistic. We were able to get chaise up the stairs, which was fantastic, but once we got it into the living room and started to put the cover on, we realized that it didn’t even fit! It was too tight or too loose in all the wrong places and just looked terrible. I was incredibly annoyed with Ikea, and with the entire situation.

My mom, ever that glass-half-full kind of lady, suggested that I should just return the Ikea cover and upholster the chaise myself. I’ve always wanted to upholster a piece of furniture, and was excited to be able to choose my own fabric and use both my sewing skills and a staple gun, so I decided that I would take on the challenge.

I had a picture of the chaise lounge before I started doing any work on it, but somehow it got deleted from my computer. Here is a phone picture I took of it after I finished the frame:

Photobucket

I sewed the piece for the backing and used a staple gun for the rest of the frame. From there, I sewed a cover for the cushion and also sewed some pillows with piping so that I wouldn’t have to sit on the chaise with my back up against the hard wall. This is the end result:

Photobucket

I’m so happy with how it turned out! I love the pattern and colors of the fabric and because the walls and carpet in my living room are so dark, I think it brightens things up. The fabric and the pillow forms only cost about $125 (and I have tons of fabric leftover), and I probably spent 5 hours total stapling and sewing this piece of furniture into a more beautiful existence. And now that I know I’m capable, I want to buy up a bunch furniture and re-upholster all of it!

32 responses to “Suck It, Ikea.

  1. i really like that fabric! the blue/greens/turquoise color-combo is my favorite right now!

  2. uuuuum you are awesome. wow!!!

    ps, your profile picture is SO BEAUTIFUL!!
    xo. Moorea

  3. your so talented! not including having a ton of patience!

  4. Wow – this is amazing – I’m jealous of your re-upholstering skills!

  5. how clever! well done!

  6. I found your blog via Freckled Nest.
    That orange couch is really cool, although I have to say the one you ended up with looks more comfy ๐Ÿ™‚ You did an awesome job!

  7. awesome job:) Upholstery can be tricky!
    Visiting from FN..and visited your shop. Your quilted cup sleeves are so cool:)

    tamara

  8. Ikea makes me feel the same way. I get all excited from their website and then massively disappointed in store. The chaise turned out cute though!

  9. That’s amazing! How did you go about making the pieces? I’m new to the machine but would love to try something like this!

  10. brianne sheppard

    That is incredible! LOVE the fabric!

  11. You have so much talent

  12. I really like what you did here! I found your blog via Freckled Nest and am so happy I did!!

  13. Hello from Freckled Nest–your title totally made me laugh. I’ve always wanted to re-upolster something too, but I’m more of a ‘staple-gun and a lot of extra yardage’ type of gal ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Your chaise and pillows look AWESOME!
    Sarah M

  14. Hi, I was sent over from FN!
    You did a crazy good job on that re-upholster. I did two couches and a chair for my old work office and it took me like two weeks. Didn’t look as good as this though, for sure.

    ~Rachael

  15. This is beautiful! It looks like something that Sarah Richardson from HGTV would use ๐Ÿ™‚ Great work!

  16. Ha, I have said the same thing to Ikea many times, though usually it’s after I’ve spent too many hours begging the furniture to cooperate with my feeble attempts at assembly. But you magically transformed Ikea-blah into something gorgeous.

    I’m visiting from Freckled Nest and I’m having a blast looking around your shop and blog. I love your stuff! ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. wow, you did a fantastic job!

  18. You lucked out, it looks awesome! I too have a love/hate relationship with Ikea. Love their stuff (for the most part); Hate how overwhelming it is. I seriously have almost got divorced there ๐Ÿ˜‰

  19. I am loving this! I am in awe of your talent. I want to reupholster too, but I am so afraid of it.

  20. Poop on Ikea! I have some horror stories of my own from those weenies. But what a glorious creation came out of it! Good work! It’s absolutely fantastic.

  21. This looks so great Kendall!!

  22. that is so annoying that ikea disappointed you that much! But it looks great, what skill you have ๐Ÿ™‚

  23. It looks great. I love the choice of fabric. And I agree that Ikea can be a huge hassle.

  24. Wow! Great fabric and such a successful project ๐Ÿ™‚ Just popping over from FN to say hi – have a wonderful weekend!

  25. Visiting from FN! That looks incredible. I can’t wait to go through some of your other post!

  26. Found you via Freckled Nest!
    Love it! I don’t have an Ikea where I live (not even in this state) but I do have a big chair that my husband’s mother gave us and it’s an unattractive shade of red. I put a brown slipcover over it from Bed Bath and Beyond, but it never stays on well. I have to readjust everytime I sit in the chair. I may just have to follow your idea and make a slipcover.

  27. LOL, this was awesome. I have an IKEA couch that desperately needs to be reupholstered as well..this reminds me that I gotta get on that! Visiting here for the first time from FN!

  28. I’m so glad that your story ended up with a positive ending! Your chaise looks fantastic!

  29. Hi! I am visiting from Freckled Nest and my goodness I am wowed by your reupholstery job. Well done!!

  30. Visiting here from Freckled Nest. Enjoy looking through your blog.

  31. So so pretty! Go you!! That fabric is just lovely.
    (visiting from FreckledNest)

Leave a Reply

