Kendall in Babeland.

One of my best friends since middle school just had her first baby on New Year’s Eve, and this weekend I got to drive down to Vancouver to meet her son for the first time! His name is Jordan, and he’s beautiful and perfect.

I’ve started to accept the fact that I’m at the age where everyone I know is getting married, but it feels really strange that I’m approaching the age where all of those married people I know start having babies. Mostly strange in the sense that I feel like marriage and children are so far off into the future for me, but seeing my peers get married and have kids makes me think “Whoa, that could be me and no one would think that was crazy.”

I was kind of apprehensive about meeting Jordan because, as much as I love babies, they kind of terrify me. Especially just-born babies. They’re so small! And helpless! And what if I lose my grip and drop them on their heads?! My fear of accidentally dropping a baby has given me a panic attack in the past. But when it came time for me to hold him, I didn’t get very nervous… I just looked him in the eye and introduced myself and could tell that we’re going to be very good friends in the future.

Photobucket

It blows my mind that my friend Marianne, who I’ve known since I was thirteen, is now a mother. This may sound corny, but I really believe that babies, and the birthing process in general, are a miracle; and it’s incredible that Marianne got to wholly experience a miracle whose magnificence I can’t even conceive of. I will never be able to understand until it happens for me someday. Birth is such a transformative thing; she is a changed woman after having her son, and it’s a difference that is physically manifest in her. It’s so beautiful, and I’m so proud of her and so excited to be part of Jordan’s life as his auntie.

3 responses to “Kendall in Babeland.

  1. This post said so much about both you, and your friendship. It was touching this morning, thank you for sharing. -e

  2. So sweet! I know what you mean about friends having behbehs, espesh when you’ve known that person for so long.
    But that little guy is very precious!!

    And btw, I love your hair.
    (Found you through FN!)

  3. Pingback: What I’ve Been Working On. |

Leave a Reply

