Home Ec Project #24 + Etsy Preview!

Photobucket

I finished this lovely quilted baby blanket a couple weeks ago, but with all of the moving from one impermanent living situation to another, and the craziness of starting a new job, I haven’t had time to get a photo of it up on the blog until now.

Photobucket

Photobucket

I was shopping at Craft Warehouse with Josh’s mom and sister, and when I saw all of these fabulous pink prints, I realized that I hadn’t really sewn anything with pink in it, and was then that I knew I wanted to use them to make a super-girly baby blankie. It’s approximately 36″x36″, and I used a beside stitch to quilt along the seams of the blocks. I’m so happy with how it turned out.

Photobucket

And as much as I love this blankie and want to keep it for my future progeny, I am very pleased to say that this will be among the many (hopefully 30 or more) items that will be part of my etsy shop launch in November (I had hoped to open November 1st, but with all the moving and not having everyday access to my sewing machine, I may have to push it back a week or so). So if you like what you see, keep an eye out for updates on when the shop will be opening up and get ready to seize the opportunity to possess some handmade treasures!

(PS. The final two projects of Home Ec (Drafting a Pattern and Using a Commercial Sewing Pattern) are on the back-burner until the etsy shop is up and running. But my goal is to complete both projects before New Year’s. I already bought an awesome Mad Men-inspired dress to use for drafting a pattern… and it was only $6! What a steal.)

Leave a Reply

