Cue the Hallelujah Chorus!

I have a job! After seven months of unemployment, it feels good to know I’ll be waking up early tomorrow and making a positive contribution to society by kicking ass and taking names for an awesome law firm. Eep!

On top of feeling like my life is now worth something, it will be so nice to not pinch pennies (as much) anymore, and to be able to pay for some things that I’ve been to broke to pay for in these past months.

Where my first paycheck is going (besides rent):

1. Paying off my credit card.
I don’t have much left to pay on it, but it will be such a burden lifted to not have to worry about whether or not I have enough to make my payments. And then I’m going to retire my credit card for a while and let it rest. Until I find something that requires it to come out of retirement.

2. Getting ma hair did.
I haven’t had my hair colored since June, so it’s an understatement to say that some highlights are way overdue. It’s time to put those grown-out roots to sleep with the fishes, if you catch my drift.

3. Buying a bed frame!
It’s true: I have a queen-size mattress, but have been without a bed frame for the past year and half. I already know exactly which bed frame I’ll be purchasing, and I’m so looking forward to being able to step out of bed in the morning instead of standing up out of bed in the morning. I suspect it will make it much easier to wake up.

4. Good food.
Since I will have an income, I’m going to reacquaint myself with the joys of cooking real meals, and using good food to do so. So long, Costco bagels and Top Ramen.

5. Getting a digital camera.
Buying a digital camera may seem frivolous, but I’m thinking of it as a business expense: I need to be able to put up high-quality pictures of my wares in my etsy shop, right? Right. I’ve been scouring Amazon for deals on Canon Rebels, and I think I’ll be able to put a good chunk of change down on one and then pay off the rest in installments.

Wish me luck on my first day tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

