Music Video Monday #13: R.E.M.’s “Losing My Religion.”

I was only obsessed with this song and video when I was in middle school (for obvious reasons). I like this video because it’s like a giant amalgam of time periods and cultures and colors and Michael Stipe’s weird but hypnotic dancing, and it all makes perfect sense somehow, at least to me. And on re-watching it after many years, I’ve realized that there is so much good mise-en-scene at play here. Most older music videos are kind of laughable, but I think this is one of the rare music video gems from the early nineties.

Leave a Reply

