Fatty Books.

As I may have mentioned before, I have a bookshelf that is entirely dedicated to the books I own that I haven’t read yet. And because it’s impossible for me to go into a used bookstore without coming away with at least one book (if not several books), the amount of room on this bookshelf is constantly decreasing. In an attempt to make some room (and to just read some good books), I’ve decided to try to read all of the fattest books on my to-read shelf. It’s so much fatness. Just to give you an idea of how tall this stack is:

Photobucket Photobucket

I’ve already finished East of Eden by John Steinbeck and am about 150 pages shy of finishing Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy, but here are some of the other books I’ll have my nose buried in:

The Help by Kathryn Stockett (recommended by my boyfriend’s grandma)
For Whom The Bell Tolls by Ernest Hemingway
Ulysses by James Joyce
Song of Solomon/Tar Baby/Sula by Toni Morrison
The Feminine Mystique by Betty Friedan
Demons by Fyodor Dostoevsky
You Will Know Our Velocity by Dave Eggers
The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver
Moby Dick by Herman Melville
Of Human Bondage by M. Somerset Maugham
The Flounder by Gunter Grass
The Gulag Archipelago by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn
The Bonfire of the Vanities by Tom Wolfe
The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoevsky
The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand

Oh, boy, do I love books.

2 responses to “Fatty Books.

  1. i love this so much. i have a few of the same books on my “to read” shelf haha.
    i actually never ended up finishing “You Will Know Our Velocity”. As cool as Dave Eggers is, and as hip as his books are, I just couldn’t get into them. I think they were just too cynical for me at points. For some people, they found his books hopeful. But for me, I just found them hopeless and whiny. I didn’t like A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius, sadly.

  2. impressive list!

Leave a Reply

