God Went To Beauty School.

It rained today, so I wasn’t able to go to the sculpture park. Sad.

My life (without going into too much detail) is pretty chaotic right now, but in the past few days things have started coming together in an all-too-perfect way. Like things have turned out better than I could have ever hoped, and it seems almost too good to be true. I was telling one of my friends about it today, and he asked “Has it made you start believing in God?”

And in some way, it sort of has. But how belittling is it to God that I can only manage to believe in God’s existence when things are going right for me? I think that happens to me a lot, and I’m not sure why. I feel like I should be able to see God in everything, in the good and the bad and the ordinary, and appreciate God’s role in all things. I’m not in that place yet. But I read a poem the other day that made me want to be. It’s by Cynthia Rylant, and I think it’s beautiful.

God Went To Beauty School
He went there to learn how
to give a good perm
and ended up just crazy
about nails
so He opened up His own shop.
“Nails by Jim” He called it.
He was afraid to call it
Nails by God.
He was sure people would
think He was being
disrespectful and using
His own name in vain
and nobody would tip.
He got into nails, of course,
because He’d always loved
hands—
hands were some of the best things
He’d ever done
and this way He could just
hold one in His
and admire those delicate
bones just above the knuckles,
delicate as birds’ wings,
and after He’d done that
awhile,
He could paint all the nails
any color He wanted,
then say,
“Beautiful,”
and mean it.

2 responses to “God Went To Beauty School.

  1. I love this blog. And for no reason inparticular. I am from East Texas, where church is everything. There is an Avalon song (Christian Band) that has lyrics that start out by saying “I grew up in sunday school, I memorized the golden rule and how Jesus came to set the sinner free. I know the story inside out, I can tell you all about the path that led him up to Calvary. But ask me why he loves me and I don’t know what to say. But I’ll never be the same because he changed my life when he became everything to me.”<<– I'm that kid. I could debate with the best in my church over Christ. I was baptized by the age of like 7 and everyone knew my name. But it wasn't until I was 18, rock bottom, no one knew my problems, horribly confused that I found who God really is. And ever since then, good or bad, sometimes I just say a little prayer with a smile on my face and say thank you for being my everything!

  2. skippingstones

    Wow – a year ago! I’m wondering where you’re at now in your relationship with God? Actually, what I was thinking as I read this is that so many people only think of God when things are going bad. So – you were already a step ahead of a lot of us.

    A relationship with God is just like any other relationship. You have to work at it. You have to communicate with him – that means talking to Him and trying to listen out for what he’s saying to you.

    There are a lot of people in my life that I only think about when I’m reminded by something else (song, memory, food, whatever it might be). That doesn’t make me a bad friend, it just makes me self-consumed. And I don’t mean in a bad way – I’m just living my day-to-day life. I’m not spending all day, or even one day a week, calling up (or texting or emailing) all the people I know, keeping in touch with them. They’re not doing that either. I’m thankful for Facebook, because at least that gives me a peek at their lives once in a while.

    But with God it’s different. I don’t have to call him. I can just think at him. Doesn’t mean I remember to do it. That’s the part that I have to work at. And it doesn’t make me a bad person or less of a Christian. It just makes me human.

Leave a Reply

